Departmental Bulletin Paper Kabbalah: Four Crucial Phases

Zion, Mark N.

9pp.129 - 155 , 2017-03-31 , 多摩大学グローバルスタディーズ学部
Kabbalah is seen today as Judaism's most important gift to world spirituality, accessible in ways that its other sacred texts, the Tanakh (The Hebrew Bible) and the Talmud (c. 500 CE), are not. The Zohar (c. 1280), the kabbalistic text extraordinaire and Judaism’s third sacred text, was originally synonymous with orthodoxy, but it has transcended it. The Zohar is the main reason for Kabbalah’s continual regeneration. Kabbalah’s career, however, has not been even and has itself gone through Exile and Return, its central themes. In this article I will describe a little of Kabbalah’s history within Jewish culture in four phases that span about seven hundred years, from the twelfth-century to the eighteenth-century. Each of these phases is very much alive today, in varying degrees, across all branches of Judaism, but more so in Hasidic Judaism.カバラは、タナハ(ヘブライ語聖書)やタルムード(500 年頃)といった聖典よりも親しみ易い点において、世界のスピリチュアリティに対するユダヤ教の最も重要な貢献と捉えられている。ゾハール(1280 年頃)はカバラの特別な聖典であり、ユダヤ教において三番目に重要なテクストであるが、その本来の正統性を越え、カバラの絶え間ない再生の主因となっている。しかし、カバラの辿った道のりは平坦ではなく、その中心的主題である「追放」と「帰還」を自ら経験してきた。本稿は、ユダヤ教文化におけるカバラの歴史を、12 世紀から18 世紀のおよそ700 年間に渡る四つの局面に分けて記述する。それぞれの局面は、程度の差こそあれ、ユダヤ教の全ての分派、特にハシド派において現在も生き続けている。

Number of accesses :  

Other information